Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please give me your best painting tips!

nolite te bastardes carborundorum stellarfeller's Avatar

Please give me your best painting tips!

I want to paint a bedroom in my house. I am a novice painter (like Jon Snow, I know nothing), and I need tips from experienced painters, please!
    Mornings are for coffee and contemplation
    -
    Chief Hopper, Stranger Things

Ooh ooh! I love painting. Done every house we've ever lived in multiple times. Painting isn't hard, but it can be finicky. Here's some thoughts:

It's hard to judge how a room is going to look from a paint chip - especially with darker colours, so don't go too dark.
    Don't use cheap paint. There is a world of difference between the cheapest and good, professional quality paint. It covers better, washes better, looks better. That said, I use cheap stuff on ceilings.
    Primer is needed if the existing paint is old oil-based. If you don't know - primer to be safe.
    Primer also if you're changing from dark to light, but it's not totally necessary if you're doing the same or similar light colours and it's all latex.
    Kilz Max is my go-to primer - it covers literally anything you could have on your walls.
    Don't panic when it first goes on - paint looks like crap before it's dry, especially darker colours and especially the first coat.
    Do more than one coat. With lighter colours 2 is usually enough for total coverage.
    Mask off baseboards and trim, but don't totally trust it. I've never found a tape that leaves a perfect line IRL, no matter what the ads say. maybe because I have had bumpy 1950s walls in my houses, though.
    Wash your walls with TSP before you paint. It's a grease remover, and will leave you with a good clean surface to paint.

My best painting tip: Hire a painter

I tried myself once, such a mess, never again lol

Sitting on the couch eating bon bons! Eli's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GiftOfFlavor View Post