Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: But honestly, I was just shining too bright for them.

But honestly, I was just shining too bright for them.

This is an old post from HONY, but it came through my feed today.

"I used to be a preschool teacher, but I got fired."
    "What happened?"
    "Well, I decided that I wanted to have a socially conscious class. So we learned about apartheid in South Africa. Then we learned about homelessness. Then we made mother's day cards for Trayvon Martin's mom. And I think the principal decided that it was too much for three and four year olds, because she told me I wasn't a 'good fit.' But honestly, I was just shining too bright for them. And now she's going to see me on Humans of New York, and she'll be sorry!"
    https://www.facebook.com/humansofnew...type=3&theater

Would you want your preschooler in her class?

Should the principal be sorry?

As an aside, the comments read like a citation of "look, urbanites really do look down on rural people."

I'm all for socially conscious children but IMO the four and under crowd can't fully grasp ideas like apartheid and they shouldn't be asked to grasp ideas about children being killed by the police. With kids that age you teach them about empathy with the kids in their class, you teach them about recycling. You work your way up to the big shit.

When my son was around that age he had a picture book called "Great Ships". He was huge into ships - Titanic was probably his favourite - but when he was 3 and 4 we skipped the page on Amistad. There's enough time for children to learn the world sucks and/or has sucked in the past. Let them be kids when they're three.